Emergency contact: +31 6 532 02 915

Phases of labor

The phases of labor

The birth consists of 3 phases:


Dilation phase

This is the phase during which the cervix dilates, by means of contractions. They are painful contractions of the uterine muscle. Characteristic of good labor contractions is that they are frequent, increasingly painful and last longer.


Pushing phase

The pushing phase starts when there is full dilation. You will feel pressure in the belly. Once the obstetrician has confirmed the complete dilation, you will start pushing. With your firstborn, it will take 1 hour on average. For each subsequent child, probably shorter.


Delivering the placenta

Within one hour of the birth of the baby, the placenta will need to be delivered. Only after this, the birth is complete, and only after this, wounds will be sutured if necessary.

©KNOV & Gezondheidsplein

Professional and personal guidance

cooperatieverloskundigen    icoon2    knov